History of Uxbridge
Uxbridge was settled in 1806, by Quakers from Pennsylvania. The Quaker Friends Meeting House, built in 1821, was the focal point of this pioneer community. The Quaker Friends Meeting House located south of Durham Road 8, off Concession 6, is open to the public during the summer, on the first Sunday of each month.
The 1820s, and 30s, saw a new wave of settlers arrive in Uxbridge from Britain. When the local post office was opened in 1836, the name Uxbridge was chosen. This name originates from Uxbridge, Middlesex, England, and is thought to be derived from a Saxon tribe.
Uxbridge ushered in a new era of growth and prosperity in 1871, when the Grand Trunk Railway established headquarters here. A roundhouse, engine repair shop, and a railway car factory, all brought great prosperity to Uxbridge, which led to its incorporation as a town in 1885. Today, the Uxbridge Train Station is part of the historic York-Durham Heritage Railway. This nostalgic railway takes passengers back in time on a twenty minute picturesque ride through the Uxbridge Valley, to the neighbouring Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville.
In 1911, Lucy Maud Montgomery, the world renowned author of Anne of Green Gables, moved to Uxbridge with her husband, the Reverend Ewan Macdonald. Montgomery resided in Uxbridge until 1926, and wrote 11 of her 22 novels at the Church Manse in the hamlet of Leaskdale. The Leaskdale Church Manse is now a national historic site.
For more information on Lucy Maud Montgomery, and Uxbridge’s other celebrated people including: nationally known artist David Milne, pianist Glen Gould, and former Toronto Mayor Thomas Foster, you should visit the Uxbridge-Scott Museum & Archives located north of Durham Road 8, off Concession Road 6.
This museum is situated in one of the prettiest settings in the Greater Toronto Area, overlooking the Uxbridge Valley, and the Oak Ridges Moraine. Call 905-852-5854 for public hours.