History of Lytton Park
Lytton Park was originally known simply as Lot 3 Concession 1 West of Yonge Street, This was a 200 acre farm lot granted to John MacDougall a United Empire Loyalist. In 1828, the Snider family built the first house in the neighbourhood at 744 Duplex Avenue. The original Regency style cottage was expanded over the years and is now Georgian in appearance. It is one of the oldest private residences in Toronto.
Lytton Park’s rich history includes a castle and a horse racing track. The castle known as Glen Castle – sometimes referred to as Ainsley Castle - once stood perched on the hill where Glen Castle Street is now situated. The racetrack was situated near Glengrove Avenue and Yonge Street. It began operations in 1887 and closed just two years later.
In 1886 the Metropolitan Street Railway began a one horse carriage service to what was then the Town of North Toronto which included Lytton Park. Speculating on future land development for the area the railway company purchased the 200 acre Beatty farm creating the Glen Grove Estates subdivision. The first houses in the neighbourhood along Glengrove Avenue were built in the 1890s and early 1900s.
When the Town of North Toronto was annexed by the City of Toronto in 1912 residential development in Lytton Park began to take off. Families flocked to Lytton Park which led to the building of John Ross Robertson Public School in 1921. “JRR” has been a neighbourhood landmark ever since.