History of West Rouge
West Rouge was primarily farmland in 1926, when real estate developer Cecil White created the "Rouge Hills" subdivision. This development was intended to be a unique summer playground, with grand country estates spread out along the Rouge River. There were even plans for an elaborate canal system and private boathouses to service these estates.
"Rouge Hills" was never completed, however a few of the cottages on Rouge Hills Drive and Ridgewood Rd are legacies of this subdivision. Year round residential development of the West Rouge neighbourhood began in the 1940's, with individual lots being purchased by homeowners. Large parcels of land were subsequently developed by builders through the 1950, 60's and 70's. More housing was added in the 1980's when the former Rouge Hills Golf and Country Club located in the Rouge Valley was sold to developers.